I want a medal just for getting up

So for the last 3 weeks I’ve been saying “right tomorrow I’m gonna get up and do Parkrun” and every Saturday morning I’ve rolled back over in bed and not gone.

But something has to shift

Rose is 8 weeks old and not only can I not fit into any of my pre pregnancy clothes, but I just feel so unfit.

So I got up this morning, managed to squeeze into some running gear and made my way to Mile End Parkrun, a route I’m not familiar with.

I was very apprehensive and unsure how far I would be able to run. When the gun went I did too, but literally 10seconds in I was like oh no!!

It hurt

The course has 2 hills on each lap but even without them I would have struggled. I decided very early on that I would only be doing one lap and I didn’t feel at all ashamed of not completing the whole course – it took me 22 minutes to do 2.5kilometers – wow!!

I am now sitting on the sofa with my baby girl feeling like I’ve run a marathon. My legs are throbbing and I feel exhausted – but it’s a start.

Not sure that I will be up early next week for Parkrun but I will be doing some exercise to improve my fitness, and then maybe in the summer I will be back!!!

Comments
6 Responses to “I want a medal just for getting up”
  1. Craigie-Lee Paterson says:

    Hi I was at Mile End parkrun this morning (just in front of you). Wanted to tell you that I run on Mondays with a women’s running group. We meet at 6.30pm in the dressing room at Mile End stadium. You are more than welcome to come and give us a go…..

    • fattymustrun says:

      I may well come and try it in a few weeks time when I feel my fitness has improved a bit. Can’t believe how difficult this morning was, I feel like I did when I first started running 😦

      Thanks

  2. Melanie Bowen says:

    Hello,

    I have a question about your blog, could you please email me? Thanks!!

    Melanie

  3. Rozette says:

    Good for you for getting back to it. It will get easier. The body is an amazing machine. It responds well to movement. What is the saying? A body in motion stays in motion.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] back to Mile End parkrun today to tackle those deadly hills, you may remember this course was my first attempt at running after having over a year off and I only managed one lap that […]

  2. […] 9th – Went for my first run, a parkrun. Only managed one […]



No comments yet? Feel free to tell me what you think

  • Weight Loss Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
