I’ve done it

So it’s been a while since my last 10k, probably about a year ago actually, a 5 lap hilly 10k around a cycle track for a local charity, which I finished in about an hour and eight minutes I think.

Bearing in mind I struggled to complete a 5k parkrun a few weeks ago, it may seem a bit silly to commit to an organised race, but that is exactly what I have done.

I am desperate to build my stamina up again, to lose some weight and to regain my love of running.

So I have signed up for the Nike 10k nighttime run for girls called “girls own the night” it’s taking place in May in Victoria Park which is just down the road from me in East London.

Now I have to reacquaint myself with my running shoes and just get out the door and run.

This weekend in an attempt to build my fitness I have been to the gym (30 minutes of cardio including 10 minutes of interval running and half an hour of weights), been swimming twice (this morning at London Fields Lido in the freezing cold) and I’ve been on the wii everyday…so I’ve made a start right?

Comments
4 Responses to “I’ve done it”
  1. Fi says:

    Ain’t bad going for a new mum! Will be at the finish line cheering you on x

  2. Don says:

    Well done , Julie. See you soon.

  3. cheryl cleary says:

    Well done, that,s fantastic!xxx

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 2013 – I went out for my first run. A parkrun. I didn’t quite manage the two laps…neither my legs nor my respiratory system could finish […]



No comments yet? Feel free to tell me what you think

  • Weight Loss Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
