The day the running world cried

I went running this evening. With my sister J and good friend B, neither of them have done much running. They joined me at Ashton’s Athletics Track in Redbridge, London, England. The session was organised by a runner from my running club, the East London Runners, with about 12/14 attendees.

It was a lot warmer than last weeks session, but with the 3 lap warm up, 6x400meter fast runs with 200meter recovery and a final lap to warm down…it was just as tough.

I came home to a dinner cooked by my partner and got my beautiful daughter Rose ready for bed, and that’s when I got the call from my mum,

“You seen the news?, switch over to channel 80…..I don’t think it’s a good idea you volunteering at the London Marathon next week”

The images I saw on the BBC News 24 channel stopped me in my tracks, I could not believe what I was seeing. Having run a marathon I am distraught at what had happened. The reactions of the runners, spectators and volunteers…the shock and fear they must have felt, which would have been completely unexpected.

I took a long bath tonight to soak my aching muscles, and also to have a bit of a cry. Running has given me so much over the last few years and now it will never be the same.

Running is never about politics…or race, or class, or anything else that doesn’t matter in this world. You put your trainers on you run…and that makes you a runner, whether you are Usain Bolt, Paula Radcliffe, or any one of the millions of runners worldwide that form this amazing community of people.

I remember how I felt after 7/7, and the fears I had in the lead up to London 2012, but I also think about the consequences of this happening at London last year…would my mum have been caught in the blast with the bag of jelly babys she had brought along for me, or my nieces and nephews who had made a banner?

I am simply gutted.

Who knows if I will run another marathon (I doubt if my other half will let me now), but I tell you one thing I will always be a runner through and through.

20130416-004236.jpg

This is a picture at mile 21 where runners were stopped…this sums up the sadness I feel tonight!!

Comments
2 Responses to “The day the running world cried”
  1. yes you are so right, so sad and senseless. xxx

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] The Day the Running World Cried (fattymustrun.wordpress.com) […]



No comments yet? Feel free to tell me what you think

  • Weight Loss Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
